Playing audio files with OVC3860 Bluetooth chip

The OVC3860 is a low cost Bluetooth 2.0 stereo audio chip. It supports the SBC (Subband Coding) compression coding/decoding scheme which is the standard codec for all the Bluetooth stereo devices.
I bought the module and a breakout board from the ebay. The breakout board contains the buttons for controlling the volume and selecting the next/previous track, it has a battery charger and a headset output. After soldering the module and the battery to the breakout board the module appeared on the air. I paired it with my phone and played some music, but the audio was distorted and I could hear a lot of high pitched noise in the background. The noise level was dependent on where I was touching the board and found that when I touch the end of the pcb antenna the noise completely disappeared. So I soldered a small wire to the pcb antenna but I still had noise. Then I cut the wire to about 4cm long and the noise disappeared. I don’t really understand what was causing the distortion. It wasn’t caused by the distance because the module was close to the phone. Anyway, this is a cheap solution for streaming wireless audio.

ovc3860 breakout

ovc3860 breakout

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.